GSSAThe 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.


National Archives, Kew CO48/41, 673

London 31 October 1819


I take the liberty to write to you concerning a conveyance to the Cape of Good Hope. I have been regularly bred up to the medical profession and has been attached to the army in the West Indies as Hospital Mate for above six years. There having had the yellow fever I applied for leave of absence and came home in 1817 and my appointment only being temporary and not by commission I was not allowed half pay. I was under Doctor JACKSON & Doctor FERGUSSON and had an opportunity of seeing a great number of fevers and other diseases incident to warm climates and therefore hope that my services would be acceptable and can refer you to the head of the Medical Department for my good character. It is not convenient to pay for my passage but I will very willingly make myself useful as far as is in my power and if requisite would enter into a bond to make my expenses good that might be incurred on my account during the passage in any way or manner as the person I went out with might think proper. I am in perfect good health myself and I would endeavour to anticipate and prevent occurrence of disease in others, would be willing to attend or call on any person who might be likely to engage me.

Your most obedient humble servant


I live at No.2 Rogers Row, Little Eaton Street, Pimlico

Print Email