GSSAThe 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

O'DWYER, Andrew C

Filed under C as CODWYN

National Archives, Kew CO48/42, 420


October 13th 1819

My Lord,

I perceive by the public prints that a Colony under the immediate protection of Government is about to proceed to Africa. I also remark that directions are given to rite to your Lordship for particulars respecting the expedition. I am therefore induced to take the liberty of stating my eligibility to become a Colonist and at the same time to respectfully beg a particular account of the means by which they are protected by Government.

I am by profession a brewer and understand the manufacturing of ‘artificial yeast', am about 19 years old, good conduct and have received a tolerable gentleman's education. I am thus particular because I would suppose I ought to merit more encouragement than a person of less [?]tensions. I would if I met with good protection instantly go & I flatter myself I would rather be a acquisition than otherwise. I would feel much obliged to your Lordship directing me to be informed relative to this business and have the honour to be with much respect

Your Lordship's obedient and humble servant

Andrew C. O'DWYER

[hole in paper obscures full address in Ireland]

Print Email