GSSAThe 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.


National Archives, Kew CO48/45, 516

No.2 Chequer Square

White Cross Street

St.Lukes, Middlesex

[Received August 7 1819]


Having heard that an opportunity was now offering for settlers to colonise the Cape of Good Hope – induced me thus to intrude upon your kindness in addressing this to you for your inspection.

I have a wife and three children, my age is twenty seven years, I can work as a Plaisterer and Bricklayer and have occasionally been accustomed to Husbandry work. The age of my wife is thirty years and has been accustomed to Servitude untill her marriage. My eldest son is five years, my second a daughter three years old, my third a daughter eighteen months. I really wish to embrace the opportunity being out of employ, but must beg the favor of you to furnish me with the full particulars of the conditions on which settlers are going out and on what conditions after arriving at the place of destination.

Sir, your kind answer as soon as convenient will be esteemed a favor highly conferred on

Your most obedient and very humble servant


Print Email