Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

STILLWELL, William, 1820 Settler

[Transcriber's note. Some hyphens have been added to this letter for ease of reading. It is written as one continuous sentence]

National Archives, Kew CO48/45, 806

August 3, 1819



Excuse the liberty I take in addressing you but being informed that all application relating to the emigration to the Cape must be made to your office by letter will I hope in some measure apologize for my intruding on your time - the occupation I follow is that of a carpenter my family but small being a wife and daughter whose age is nine months being myself in the 25 year - my residence is No.20 Devonshire Place Vauxhall - should reference or character be wanting it will be found as follows my father W.S. has served Mr. HOLRAYER of Scotland Yard Plumber to His Majesty for 30 years his brother Thos. S. of Arundel Street Strand has the honor to act under the Admiralty as a navy agent - those Sir are my connection and should you feel any generous sentiment towards my setting out has a settler to the Cape believe me it will be constant study to merit that decided preference my case must of excited - the cause of my wishing to sett out is that I follow my trade has a journeyman and like many other compeld to take my chance of work which is at this time very precarious - the money to be deposited I believe have at command and likewise to the number of emigrates but should very much prefer it if was possible for the number to be made up at your office.

Be pleased Sir to forgive my want of judgement in addressing you and all instances where I have committed myself I believe that I shall ever honor that country that gave me birth & those whom it may trouble to forward my intentions

Sir I remain with every sense of gratitude

Your very humble. Servt.



48 Marsham Street



Oct 9, 1819


Having an earnest desire to settle at the Cape but being disappointed among the party of Mr. NANCOLLAS of Spa Fields has induced me to trouble you with this letter hoping that a grant of land may be made to me for four who are all young & healthy & desirous of becoming settlers on the condition of a grant of land being made to us & we to defray the expense of our passag. Should the above application cause any interest you may rely that our conduct shall be ever such as so great a favour demands.

Sir Your obediant Sert.


William STILLWELL, Carpenter, 25, Wife & one child

Richard CLARK, distiller, 28, Wife & 2 children under 7

William FRAMES, gardner, 25, single

James JURY, plumber, 26, Wife & one child

[Transcriber's Note: William STILLWELL and James JURY are listed as an independent settlers on the Garland in Hockly's ‘Story of the British Settlers of 1820' –see the correspondence of John LEIGH in CO48/44]

  • Hits: 6230