GSSAThe 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

Selected Settler Correspondence 1820 - 1837

Whereas ALL the 1819 correspondence was transcribed (see CO48/41 through CO48/46 at the National Archives), whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape, here only letters by known settlers or their families, or letters of great relevance to the 1820 settlers, have been transcribed. There are many other letters in later files, thought not to be written by eventual settlers. However, if an ancestor is known to have emigrated after the 1820 settlers then it might be worth looking through the rest of the correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically. The relevant files for letters written in 1820 are CO48/52 (A-L) and CO48/53 (M-Y). Later files are labelled "Original Correspondence" followed by the year, and can be found from CO48/56 (1821) to CO48/186 (1837).

Unless otherwise stated letters were written to either the Secretary of State for the Colonies or his deputy. The original correspondence is filed in order of receipt. Here it has been placed in alphabetical order according to the surname of the writer, with letters by the same writer in chronological order, for ease of reading. Original spelling has been maintained. Reference numbers, where given, refer to printed page numbers stamped on the letters and will enable visitors to the National Archives to locate the letter more easily.

BRADSHAW, Richard, 1833

National Archives, Kew CO48/152, 447


[Envelope addressed to Mrs. Elizabeth BRADSHAW, Uley near Dursley, Gloucestershire, with Speed]



Aug'st 12th 1833

Dear Wife,
            I have taken the opertunity of wrighting to you and I hope you will also return me an answer I have repeatedly wroght and I have not recv'd no letter from you or anyone for upwards of four years. The Bearer of this to England is Thos. PHILLIPS Esqr a Gintelman that brought out a party of Settlers from Milford Heaven and sailed from Bristol in the same ship with me to the Cape of Good Hope. I hope you and Family have made your mind to come to this Colony as Mr. PHILLIPS will return he will also make some endeavour to make some arrangement with Government in regard of people coming to this Colony and particular those who have Friends here. I hope you will also do every thing in your power to come as many women and children have found their ways here and I hope you will now this time. It is a fine Healthy country and Provisions very cheap, Beef ½d per lb, Mutton one penny per pound, Flour one penny per pound and wages very High for a Labouring Man 3 shillings per day Carpenters and Masons from 5 to 6 shillings per day and all others in per portion. I hope this will find you all in good Health as it leaves me and my Brother and I hope it will not be long before I shall [see] you in a Land of Plenty My Brother and me give our love to our Brother Will'm Wife & Family to sisters Hannah & Esther and all Inquiring Friends.
Dear Wife & Children
I remain your affectionate Husband

[covering letter with above, sent to Mrs. BRADSHAW by Thomas PHILIPPS]

         This letter was given to me by your Husband so long ago as last August but I did not leave the settlement till March last when he was quite well. If I can prevail on the Government to lend money to take people out to their Friends in the Cape I will write to you again. Will you give the inclosed letter to the Overseers of the Poor (when the new bill about the Poor takes effect they may be inclined to lend their aid) We are in want of men, women & Children.
I am Yours Truly
17 Bernard St
Russell Square


Print Email