Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

Correspondence 1821 to 1837.

Here only letters by known settlers or their families, or letters of great relevance to the 1820 settlers, have been transcribed, whereas ALL the 1819 correspondence was transcribed (see CO48/41 through CO48/46) whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape.

Unless otherwise stated letters were written to either the Secretary of State for the Colonies or his deputy.The original correspondence is filed in order of receipt. Here it has been placed in alphabetical order according to the surname of the writer, with letters by the same writer in chronological order, for ease of reading. Original spelling has been maintained. Reference numbers, where given, refer to printed page numbers stamped on the letters and will enable visitors to the National Archives to locate the letter more easily.

McCLELAND, Francis, 1835

National Archives, Kew CO48/164, 36



   It is now nearly twenty years since I had the happiness of spending a few days in your society at the home of the Rev'd Mr. BERESFORD in the County Tyrone and I have since that time frequently mentioned the urbanity with which you used to treat me on that occasion although only an humble tutor in the family.
   In the year 1819 I was admitted into holy orders by the Bishop of Kilmore and contrary to the wishes of his late Uncle the Arch Bishop of [obscured] I determined on leaving my native land.
In consequence of the rapid increase in my family, and the death of some friends, I am now unable to support myself with any appearance of acceptability upon my limited income and as the Earl of ABERDEEN has lately deprived me of all hopes of having my salary augmented under a Tory administration. I am about to appeal to their successors. Of the present government I believe you have always been the constant friend, and as consistency is very rare in these days I have no doubt where it has been so long tried it must be sure to be respected. With this means I take the liberty to enclose herewith a copy of a memorial which I transmitted through our present excellent Governor to the Colonial Secretary last year. Lord ABERDEEN does not see the justice of my claim to an increase of salary but perhaps the present Secretary might think differently. Could I prevail upon you to say a word in my behalf. I have no doubt that my application would be carefully attended to, and if you would be so kind as to use your influence, I hope I shall not be forgetful of your kindness. It is possible that you may have heard of some of my connexions and I am sure if you ever did you would regret to find the friends of those who lost their lives for their country reduced so low as we are. My wife's father was the brother of Major General Sir W. CLARKE Bart. and of Major CLARKE late of the 35 Foot and her mother was the sister of Lt. Col. BOLAND late inspecting Field Officer at Bristol and of Mrs. FARRINGTON who married the late General of that name.
   If I be not mistaken Mrs. BYNG used to be very fond of flowers. In that case let her only command and any plant that can be procured here will be carefully looked for in order that it may be transferred to Wrotham.
Hoping you will have the goodness to excuse the liberty I have taken in thus obtruding myself upon your notice,
I remain Sir your very obed't servant
C. Chaplain.

[Transcriber's Note: It is not clear exactly who this is written to, but the BYNG family lived at Wrotham Park in Hertfordshire]

  • Hits: 4689