Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

McCLELAND, John Beatty

Filed under C in CO48/42

National Archives, Kew CO48/42, 392


Oct 5th 1819

My Lord,

I wish to become a contractor for the ten persons I mention on the other side to proceed as Settlers to the Cape of Good Hope, and I should feel obliged by your Lordship letting me know as soon as possible what further steps I am to take in relation to the depositing of the moneys which will be required of me for them - specifying the amount and where it is to be sent to.

Your Lordship's Obedient Servant


Name of Contractor:

John Beatty McCLELAND, Aged 24 years, Farmer

Charles LONEY?, Linen & Cotton Weaver, 25, Mary [age obscured] 2 male children aged 2 & 1

James JOHNSON, Farmer, 30, Margaret, 27? [partly obscured] Eliza 7

William THOMPSON, Farmer, 22

G NEEDHAM, Farmer, 21

+ S NEEDHAM, Weaver, 24, C NEEDHAM, 22, Catherine, 6, Sarah, 1

G NEEDHAM, ? & Farmer, 20

G McKINLEY, Weaver, 36, ? McKINLEY, 20, Anne, 11, Mary, 13

P McCABE, Farmer, 28, Elisa McCABE, 20,

Saunderson KYLE, Farmer, 24, Anne KYLE, 26, Anne, 1 year old

* W FARNILE ? , 36, Bridget, 32, a son 9, Bridget, 11, Catherine, 13

+ Pensioner 103 Foot

  1. Pensioner 9 Dragoon




National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 394


6 October 1819

My Lord,

In addition to the list of Settlers whose names I had the honour of forwarding to your Lordship yesterday, I beg here to add the names on the other side that should your Lordship look upon them as proper persons I may be enabled to join them to the ?list? as they are also from the same part of the country. I should be much obliged, Your Lordship, letting me have any further information on the subject as soon as you conveniently can.

Your Lordship's most obedient, very humble servant,

John Beatty McCLELAND

It may be of advantage to state that any individual whose names I have sent off are in good health and all capable of work.

William WILSON, 18, Farmer

John ARCHER, 21, Farmer, Jane ARCHER, 21, *

Patt ? MAHON, 20, Plowman to Lord Newcomen, Eliza MAHON, 27, two sons, 2½ and the other ½ year

Owen W DANIEL, 21, Farmer

Michael McCORMICK, 21, Farmer

James LOGAN, 25, Labourer

*This is only supposed to be her age – but she is not more [than] two and twenty




National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 513

[Written in a different handwriting – no date or address]

Mr McCLELAND has called at this office at the desire of his brother, the Revd. Francis McCLELAND, who has been approved by Lord BATHURST as a clergyman to proceed to South Africa, for the purpose of enquiring whether any determination has yet been come to concerning the proposals of twenty six individuals from the county of Longford transmitted by him hither about a fortnight since.

Mr McCLELAND will be extremely obliged to Mr GOULDBURN for any confirmation on this lead with which he be favoured, in order to communicate to his brother and the individuals in question.




National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 515

Mr McCLELAND, brother to a clergyman of Longford, Ireland has taken leave to call on Mr GOULBURN at the desire of Lord FORBES M.P. for the County of Longford. He requests that Mr GOULBURN will allow him the honour of a few minutes conversation at whatever time he may appoint respecting the eligibility of his brother to proceed to South Africa with Mr William PARKER.

[written by authorities on reverse]

Mr McCLELAND has been informed that if his brother wishes to go his name must be regularly reported by the person to whom he proposes to attach himself. When this is done and testimonials sent, his offer to go will be considered.

  • Hits: 6392