GSSAThe 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

Selected Settler Correspondence 1820 - 1837

Whereas ALL the 1819 correspondence was transcribed (see CO48/41 through CO48/46 at the National Archives), whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape, here only letters by known settlers or their families, or letters of great relevance to the 1820 settlers, have been transcribed. There are many other letters in later files, thought not to be written by eventual settlers. However, if an ancestor is known to have emigrated after the 1820 settlers then it might be worth looking through the rest of the correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically. The relevant files for letters written in 1820 are CO48/52 (A-L) and CO48/53 (M-Y). Later files are labelled "Original Correspondence" followed by the year, and can be found from CO48/56 (1821) to CO48/186 (1837).

Unless otherwise stated letters were written to either the Secretary of State for the Colonies or his deputy. The original correspondence is filed in order of receipt. Here it has been placed in alphabetical order according to the surname of the writer, with letters by the same writer in chronological order, for ease of reading. Original spelling has been maintained. Reference numbers, where given, refer to printed page numbers stamped on the letters and will enable visitors to the National Archives to locate the letter more easily.

WALKER, John, 1826

National Archives, Kew, CO48/86, 433

24 Argyll St

5th July 1826


I beg your attention to my son John WALKER, now residing at Cradock, Somerset District, Cape of Good Hope.

He is now about 28 years of age of good health & temperate habits & accompanied the numerous settlers who went to that colony a few years ago.

He was educated by the Rev'd Mr. Oliphant BOLAM near Morpeth Northumberland under whose care he was for several years attending to the usual studies of boys of his age in the Latin & Greek Classics & Mathematics. Having a talent for drawing maps & plans he fixed upon Architecture as his profession & was for some time in the office of an eminent Architect in London. Whether the occupation was too sedentary in its commencement or from some knowledge he had acquired of drugs & chemistry, he then wished to change his destination for surgery & attended BROOKS & other anatomists for some time but from the love of change so common to young persons & the eagerness to see foreign countries, he embarked with the setlers to Algoa Bay.

At this instant he has some office with the Government of that Colony, but as some of his letters have miscarried I do not know what it is & as he has not mentioned it in any of the letters received I conclude it is one of obscurity. I should esteem myself highly obliged by your appointing him to any situation of which you may deem him worthy.

With every respect

I am your humble servant


[Note at foot of page]

Refer to the Colony & acqt that I shall direct enquiries ?? the condition of his son with a view to ascertain whether the situation which he fills in that quarter will enable LB to comply with Mr.W's request in his favor.

Print Email